Dandy Campers

Dandy Trailer Tent / Folding Camper Enthusiasts. Dandy Trailer Tent/Folding camper the best for all year camping


Favourite Films & Reviews

Share
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Fri 14 Sep 2012, 8:07 am

It's getting darker at nights now so we tend to watch more movies ....... what films would you watch again.


We've just watched the new Snow White and really enjoyed it. A few of our favourite films are

Dirty Dancing (no one puts baby in a corner)

Meet Joe Black (Bradd Pitt plays death)

Constantine (Keanu Reeves in a supernatural film)

The Deer Hunter (Robert de Nero & Chris Christophersen in a Veitnam War Film)

Limitless (Robert de Nero & Bradley Cooper - paranoia thriller)

Con air (Nicholas Cage - action Film)




There are probably lots more but my memory needs jogging to remember them all



Last edited by Helen on Fri 12 Apr 2013, 8:23 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Title change)
avatar
mike
Dandy Owner

Posts : 5172
Join date : 2011-06-12
Age : 69
Location : north east lincs

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by mike on Fri 14 Sep 2012, 6:36 pm

Ghost,transporter,matrix, surprising how your mind goes blank there must be loads.

abc5575

Posts : 198
Join date : 2012-06-13
Location : Tyneside

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by abc5575 on Fri 14 Sep 2012, 9:16 pm

A matter of life and death
The Fog
The Polar Express
Brief Encounter
Waterloo Bridge
Blythe Spirit
The Birds
Dog Soldiers
Carry on Camping. Very Happy
avatar
Nick
Dandy Owner

Posts : 570
Join date : 2011-06-12
Age : 43
Location : Tyne and Wear

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Nick on Fri 14 Sep 2012, 9:42 pm

Donnie Darko
EraserHead
Starwars
Tora Tora Tora
Dr Strangelove
Juno
Edward Sissorhands
Monsieur Hulot's Holiday
Mary and Max

and so on
avatar
Caz1960

Posts : 1716
Join date : 2011-09-04
Age : 58
Location : Cardigan west wales

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Caz1960 on Fri 14 Sep 2012, 11:18 pm

Star wars
star trek
happy feet
fern gully
avatar
up
monsters inc
nine
despicable me
ocean 11,12,13
help
speed 1 not 2
matrix
transformers all of them
abyss
face off
riddick (can't spell it)

avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 1:35 am

Riddick was brilliant Caz ....... one I had forgotten and Edward Scissorhands too.

Also forgot

Ghost
Miracle on 34th Street.
Ransom
avatar
Caz1960

Posts : 1716
Join date : 2011-09-04
Age : 58
Location : Cardigan west wales

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Caz1960 on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 12:15 pm

forgot to say all yours Helen are also on my list apart from deer-hunter brilliant film but couldn't see it again
and KNIGHTS TALE
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm

Oh yes a knights tale ........ in fact forgot we had that one but will watch it later on

abc5575

Posts : 198
Join date : 2012-06-13
Location : Tyneside

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by abc5575 on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 5:58 pm

Hi all.
What was Riddick about, and who starred in it?
avatar
Esermalda

Posts : 606
Join date : 2011-10-31
Age : 62
Location : cullompton,devon

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Esermalda on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 6:22 pm

All of the Toy Story movies
All of the Shrek movies
All of the Harry Potter movies
life of Brian, (watched numerous times)
driving Miss Daisy and any movies with Jessica Tandy.
Any movie with Morgan Freeman
Shawshank redemption
Shakespeare in love
Any movie with Will Smith
But my favourite movie of all time is Mulan (get off the roof, get off the roof)
avatar
mike
Dandy Owner

Posts : 5172
Join date : 2011-06-12
Age : 69
Location : north east lincs

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by mike on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 6:30 pm

Esermalda wrote:All of the Toy Story movies
All of the Shrek movies
All of the Harry Potter movies
life of Brian, (watched numerous times)
driving Miss Daisy and any movies with Jessica Tandy.
Any movie with Morgan Freeman
Shawshank redemption
Shakespeare in love
Any movie with Will Smith
But my favourite movie of all time is Mulan (get off the roof, get off the roof)

Yes forgot all about driving Miss Daisy Very Happy

Agree about Morgan Freeman
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 9:05 pm

Vin Diesel plays a criminal in the films Riddick, he gets sent to a hostile planet where there are preditors ...... it's a futuristic action film. Very Happy

abc5575

Posts : 198
Join date : 2012-06-13
Location : Tyneside

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by abc5575 on Sat 22 Sep 2012, 6:12 pm

Thanks Helen, I do remember it vaguely.
avatar
Eilis
Dandy Owner

Posts : 1458
Join date : 2011-06-12
Age : 52
Location : Lowestoft, Suffolk

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Eilis on Sun 23 Sep 2012, 9:10 am

wow so many to list

all the shrek movies
the transporter movies
taken
the last airbender
the golden compass
RED
dog soldiers
the die hard movies

there are loads more but i'm bored of typing now lol
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Sun 23 Sep 2012, 11:55 am

Just watched the new Snow White film and really enjoyed it Very Happy
avatar
Tow Itch
Dandy Expert

Posts : 3183
Join date : 2011-06-20
Location : Leigh Gtr Manchester

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Tow Itch on Sun 23 Sep 2012, 5:20 pm

Surprised that there are not more staples from childhood.

White Christmas
Around the world in 80 days

As truth is ften stranger than fiction most war films will be re watched but I'll just go for two as they occurred in the same place.
The Wooden Horse
The Great Escape


Often fallen asleep to after a few beers

The Blues Brothers

If not seen try to get the version with the additional 4 or 5 minutes in where the car's special powers are explained as is where the glue comes from.



Point Break

Not an easy film. Not to be watched with anyone else as you will need a break and the other person wont want a break at the same time.

Once Upon A Time In America



The Godfather Trilogy


I do love the film but special mention have to be given to the opening sequence and music from the great Roy Budd.





[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.][You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Fri 12 Apr 2013, 8:18 am

We watched the Hobbit in 3D last night, have to say the effects are brilliant.

The film is on two discs as it's fairly long but what a let down ending .... I felt as though there should have been another disc to finish the film off, there wasn't an ending at all and just when you we're expecting lots of action the titles came on ...... an incomplete story that was like reading a good book, wanting to know the end and then finding the last chaper missing Neutral
avatar
mike
Dandy Owner

Posts : 5172
Join date : 2011-06-12
Age : 69
Location : north east lincs

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by mike on Fri 12 Apr 2013, 8:24 am

You will have to wait for Hobbit 2 ,dont think its my type of film but a mate has it in 3D and is going to lend it to me
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Fri 12 Apr 2013, 8:29 am

If I'd have known that I'd have waited until it was cheaper and watched the two one after the other, by the time the second ones out I'll have forgotten what happened in the first and it didn't say half a film on the box Shocked

Normally when things are in a series you get one film at a time with beginning middle and some type of ending.
At least we know now why we found the end odd Laughing and John was going to put this one on ebay because of it ....... guess we'll have to get the second one when it's out and refresh by watching this all over again.
avatar
jake001

Posts : 340
Join date : 2012-03-10
Age : 72
Location : Warrington

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by jake001 on Fri 12 Apr 2013, 11:07 am

It's cheaper to read the book, it's all in one volume Laughing
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Fri 24 May 2013, 7:49 am

I watched the Life of Pi in 3D a few days ago, visually it was fantastic and I did enjoy it perhaps because of the visuals but I wouldn't pay the £20+ for it ....... although we already did ....... it's one that's going to be going on ebay along with The Hobbit Twisted Evil

avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Sat 17 Aug 2013, 9:12 pm

Just watched 'Olympus has fallen'

Great film, lots of action and suspense
avatar
The Admiral

Posts : 534
Join date : 2011-06-14
Age : 60
Location : Wolverhampton

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by The Admiral on Sat 17 Aug 2013, 10:33 pm

Helen wrote:If I'd have known that I'd have waited until it was cheaper and watched the two one after the other,  by the time the second ones out I'll have forgotten what happened in the first and it didn't say half a film on the box Shocked

Normally when things are in a series you get one film at a time with beginning middle and some type of ending.
At least we know now why we found the end odd  Laughing and John was going to put this one on ebay because of it ....... guess we'll have to get the second one when it's out and refresh by watching this all over again.
Actually The Hobbit is in 3 parts, though how he's managed to stretch 1 quite short children's book into 3 3hour+ films heaven alone knows
avatar
Helen
Dandy Owner

Posts : 6834
Join date : 2011-06-12

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Helen on Tue 20 Aug 2013, 6:01 pm

Watched

Knight & Day ....... Cameron Diaz plays a ditsy blonde, Tom Cruise ..... secret agent. Plenty of action but a lot of comedy too ..... we both enjoyed the film.

Killing Season ...... Superb film, there are only two actors in most of the film but they are Robert de Niro and John Travolta who are both excellent in this edge of seat film ...... both enjoyed this one too.

Oblivion ....... Tom Cruise sky fi film .......... we watched it but neither of us really enjoyed it.

Dear John ....... more of a chick flick but watch-able.

fearful wizard

Posts : 263
Join date : 2011-12-06
Age : 68
Location : Lincoln Lincolnshire

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by fearful wizard on Tue 20 Aug 2013, 8:04 pm

action films especially with Morgan freeman
I can watch Falling Down with Michael Douglas over and over again.
I can associate myself with his character in that film.

Sponsored content

Re: Favourite Films & Reviews

Post by Sponsored content


    Current date/time is Sat 21 Jul 2018, 5:00 am