Dandy Campers

Dandy Trailer Tent / Folding Camper Enthusiasts. Dandy Trailer Tent/Folding camper the best for all year camping

Help with hitch?

Steveb1982

Help with hitch?

Post by Steveb1982 on Mon 04 Feb 2013, 3:20 pm

Hi all, I recently bought myself a 1984/5 Dandy 4/5 and am so looking forward to using it! though I am struggling to figure out what type of tow ball I need fiiting to tow it (I had trailer delivered). On closer inspection I noticed the words ALKO on the plate listing the weights etc. Does this mean its an ALKO hitch? how do I tell the difference.I was under the impression that older campers were all conventional ball type hitch?
Sorry I am extremely new to the towing game!
Any help offered will be greatly appreciated.
Best Regards
Steve
mike
Dandy Owner

Re: Help with hitch?

Post by mike on Mon 04 Feb 2013, 4:15 pm

Steveb1982 wrote:Hi all, I recently bought myself a 1984/5 Dandy 4/5 and am so looking forward to using it! though I am struggling to figure out what type of tow ball I need fiiting to tow it (I had trailer delivered). On closer inspection I noticed the words ALKO on the plate listing the weights etc. Does this mean its an ALKO hitch? how do I tell the difference.I was under the impression that older campers were all conventional ball type hitch?
Sorry I am extremely new to the towing game!
Any help offered will be greatly appreciated.
Best Regards
Steve

Steve if its a standard coupling on your dandy then the normal tow ball,it its one of alko stabilising couplings then it needs a matching tow ball as far as i know.

mike
mike
Dandy Owner

Post by mike on Mon 04 Feb 2013, 4:24 pm

This is the alko type
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Steveb1982

Post by Steveb1982 on Mon 04 Feb 2013, 4:37 pm

Thanks for your help , its the original hitch that was on the trailer so I assume its the standard fit.

P.s & it looks nothing like the one in your post. Thanks again.

Best Regards
Steve
mike
Dandy Owner