Dandy Campers

Dandy Trailer Tent / Folding Camper Enthusiasts. Dandy Trailer Tent/Folding camper the best for all year camping

Towing weights vs engine size.

markv

Towing weights vs engine size.

Post by markv on Mon 18 Mar 2013, 11:10 pm

Hello all,
I have been a Dandy owner for many years but this is my first time on this site.
I have been a biker for many, many years and attend as many rallies as possible. As the years have gone on I found myself unwilling to lie on the cold hard ground with only a thin piece of canvas between me and the elements. I bought a 2.5 litre trike and my first Dandy Dart in the early 90's. From there I progressed to a Designer up until a couple of years ago when I suffered an injury which kept me off the road for quite some time.
I am now 'back in the saddle' and own a new 2 litre automatic trike. I was wondering if this will be powerful enough to tow a Destiny, taking into account the tracks and fields we have to cross to get to the campsite.
Any help / advice would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Mark
Tow Itch
Tow Itch
Dandy Expert

Re: Towing weights vs engine size.

Post by Tow Itch on Mon 18 Mar 2013, 11:29 pm

Off the top of my head I don't know just looked on a couple of websites and I tend to think it's just one repeating another's mistakes.
I do know someone who will know I'd try a call to Boom Trikes at Boothstown. [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
The sell and used to make and sell their own design trikes plus I know they have one if not two Dandys.
A lot of the stuff on websites I think is confusing trikes and bikes with side cars.
As for the engine no problem.
If you get somewhere with Boom please re post and tell us what the outcome was if not come back and I'll look further.

Sorry I was doing something else when I first responded so not my full comprehension. If you already had the Dart and Designer and a previous trike did you tow them with this or any trike?