Dandy Campers

Dandy Trailer Tent / Folding Camper Enthusiasts. Dandy Trailer Tent/Folding camper the best for all year camping

240V electrics DIY- options?

SMoo

240V electrics DIY- options?

Post by SMoo on Tue 02 Sep 2014, 10:23 pm

Hi folks,

We're looking at the possibility of installing some 240V electric sockets in our new dandy (discovery)- we have a 3-plug hookup cable, but we'd like four or five sockets. I've spoken to Iain at Riva who quoted me £440 for installing one double socket. Sadly, this is a bit out of our price range at the mo.

I have some electrical knowledge, but am also friends with an electrician. Just wondering if anyone has attempted this job themselves, and if so how difficult it was and what is involved?

Thanks in advance for any information!

navver

Re: 240V electrics DIY- options?

Post by navver on Tue 02 Sep 2014, 10:51 pm

It's not difficult but you do need to know what you are doing to make sure its safe. Just because the hair dryer works does not mean it's safe. With electrics, we have several ways of preventing danger. If one fails, another will keep you safe. If 2 or 3 fail at the same time, your a gonner.

You are legally allowed to do it yourself. Caravans are called special locations in the IEE regs as they require a slightly different approach to a house.

You need a blue 16A plug and a socket for the hook up lead with a length of 3 core 2.5mm2 flex. Better still buy a mains lead.

On the Dandy you need a 16A socket inlet with pins not holes. Most sockets are socket outlets with holes.

Inside you need a consumer unit with RCD main switch and double pole MCBs probably 1 6A and 1 10A.

The earth must be connected to the Dandy chassis and the earth bar in the consumer unit.