Dandy Campers

Dandy Trailer Tent / Folding Camper Enthusiasts. Dandy Trailer Tent/Folding camper the best for all year camping

Help, roof inflating like a marshmallow in wind.

Pixel8it

Help, roof inflating like a marshmallow in wind.

Post by Pixel8it on Fri 28 Aug 2015, 2:02 pm

Hello, I'm new to Dandy ownership and have just come home from 2 days in 20mph+ constant winds. The Dandy held up great & the awning too. Packing up was great until we came to folding up the roof which was full of air and billowing. It's like a huge marshmallow & too inflated to fold & get the cover on, it's like packing an inflated bouncy castle!! Just managed to get front bungees on & drive home slowly. Very fed up, what usually take 10 mins took over a hour & still couldn't get air out. Don't know how it got in as watertight so thought airtight. Checked but can't see any tears or rips it can get in, only the white section has inflated.
Is this because the wind has been forced into tiny rips in the fabric somewhere? Has it happene to anyone else? Is there anyway to stop it happening? Any ideas advice or tips appreciated as husband has given up on it now as nearly broke his back trying to pack it!!

Last edited by Pixel8it on Fri 28 Aug 2015, 2:42 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : More info)

navver

Re: Help, roof inflating like a marshmallow in wind.

Post by navver on Fri 28 Aug 2015, 8:39 pm

Sorry to hear of your problem, but I've never heard of this before. Are you saying air has got in between the inner and outer layers of the roof. It is in layers as the roof is PVC impregnated each side of some insulation and this is only in the white section. The coloured section is single skin.

My guess is as yours, that there must be some holes for it to get into. You will need to find the holes and seal them but will need to force the air out first. Will be a lot easier to examine when the wind has dropped.

It's possible moisture can get in to the insulation as well.