Dandy Campers

Dandy Trailer Tent / Folding Camper Enthusiasts. Dandy Trailer Tent/Folding camper the best for all year camping

I WANT A DANDY BLUE COLOUR LIGHT WEIGHT

paulinek

I WANT A DANDY BLUE COLOUR LIGHT WEIGHT

Post by paulinek on Thu 09 Jun 2016, 12:47 am

I am new to folding campers and read a lot over last month and have decided i would like a dandy.

However i only have a small fiesta 1.2.

I nearly went to view a 6 berth weighing 7.5 kg and then read my cars V5 and said maximum weight i can tow is 500kg.

Therefore need advice am i better with the 4 berth at 500kg have not found one yet. are they really too small the 4 berth compared to the six berth.
I have my heart set on blue.

i cannot afford to trade in my 1,2 car to a bigger cas as only bought it a year ago and i will lose money by trading it in.

On top of the 500kg wieght i wanted to take 2 bicycles and then clothes quilts etc.

I am new to all of this

any helpful advice appreciated. I am on the lookout for my used dandy now.

Paulinek

navver

Re: I WANT A DANDY BLUE COLOUR LIGHT WEIGHT

Post by navver on Thu 09 Jun 2016, 7:58 pm

Is your cars towing limit for braked or unbraked trailers. All dandies are braked. The braked max tow may be higher.

All the rear entry dandies are 500kg maximum weight when loaded. This is true for the earlier brown and the light blue and whites and the latest

The latest dark blue and whites have a heavier unladen weight than the 1980s brown and the 1990s light blue and whites. We're not absolutely sure why but it may be because the beds were aluminium instead of steel and the woodwork was heavier. Or maybe the earlier weights were simply wrong as weights weren't so important years ago as cars had no towing limits. Every dandy was made specially for every buyer so each one may weigh a little different depending on options they asked for.

Unladen Weights were quote as:

Model           Dark Blue       Brown or light blue/white